Uber accused of breaking privacy rules of former users

EMBED </>More Videos

Ride sharing service Uber is accused of breaking privacy rules by tracking former users, even after they've deleted the app. (WPVI)

Ride sharing service Uber is accused of breaking privacy rules by tracking former users, even after they've deleted the app.

And the company isn't denying it.

The news ran in yesterday's New York Times.

Uber used to tag any iPhones that downloaded the app with a piece of code. But even if the app had been deleted, that code remained.

The practice is called fingerprinting and Uber says it was meant to crack down on fraud and fake accounts.

Uber has responded to the Times' story, saying they absolutely do not track individual users or their location if they've deleted the app, but they can still identify any device that has has ever been used to order an Uber.

The company says this is not an uncommon industry practice when it comes to fighting fraud.

----------
Send a breaking news alert
Report a correction or typo
Learn more about the 6abc apps
Related Topics:
technologytechnologysmartphonesappsappuberbig talkerstrending
(Copyright ©2017 WPVI-TV. All Rights Reserved.)

Load Comments