Pinella over Manuel for Mgr. Of Year

NEW YORK (AP) - November 12, 2008

Maddon succeeded Piniella as Tampa Bay manager in 2006. He was an easy winner Wednesday in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. He received all but one of the 28 first-place votes - the other went to Minnesota's Ron Gardenhire.

Piniella led the NL Central champion Cubs to the league's best record and beat out Charlie Manuel of the World Series champion Philadelphia Phillies to earn his third Manager of the Year award and first in the NL.

Copyright © 2022 WPVI-TV. All Rights Reserved.