Calle 13 up for 5 Latin Grammy Awards

LOS ANGELES (AP) - September 17, 2009 The alternative Puerto Rican hip-hop duo will compete for album of the year against Colombian singer-songwriter Andres Cepeda, Nicaraguan salsa singer Luis Enrique, folksy Argentine singer Mercedes Sosa and Brazilian musician Ivan Lins & The Metropole Orchestra at the 10th annual Latin Grammy Awards on Nov. 5 at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas.

"We are super happy," said Calle 13's Rene "Residente" Perez, who heard about the nominations at home in Puerto Rico. "The Latin Grammy Awards are, for us, valid because they have to do a lot with the music, with the art."

Calle 13 were also nominated Thursday for record of the year, best urban music album, best alternative song and best short form music video. Among the artists nominated for three trophies were Puerto Rican salsa producer Jose Lugo, Brazilian crooner Ivete Sangalo, Puerto Rican singer Gilberto Santa Rosa and Puerto Rican reggaeton duo Wisin y Yandel.

Former New York Yankees star Bernie Williams earned a nomination in the instrumental category for his album, "Moving Forward."

Other multiple Latin Grammy nominees included Guatemalan singer Ricardo Arjona, Puerto Rican reggaeton sensation Daddy Yankee, Italian vocalist Laura Pausini, Argentine rock band Babasonicos and Mexican singer-songwriter Luz Rios, who was nominated for best new artist alongside Alexander Acha, Chocquibtown, Claudio Corsi and India Martinez.

Rios and salsa singer Enrique were on hand to announce the nominations Thursday at the Conga Room in downtown Los Angeles, along with rocker Beto Cuevas, comedian Paul Rodriguez, actors Jimmy Smits and Andy Garcia, reggaeton artist Tito "El Bambino" and pop singers Shaila Durcal and Luis Fonsi. The Nov. 5 ceremony will air live on the Univision Network.

Follow Action News on Twitter

Get Action News on your website

Follow Action News on Facebook

Click here to get the latest Philadelphia news and headlines from across the Delaware and Lehigh valleys.

Copyright © 2023 WPVI-TV. All Rights Reserved.