Obama signs disaster declaration for NJ

TRENTON, N.J. (AP) - August 31, 2011

The storm caused record flooding across New Jersey, with some communities still under water three days later.

The president's action Wednesday makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Bergen, Essex, Morris, Passaic and Somerset counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured or underinsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding also will be available to state and local governments for emergency work and storm-related repairs of facilities damaged by the storm in Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland and Salem counties.

Affected individuals in the designated counties can begin applying online or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA.


Online: http://www.disasterassistance.gov

Copyright © 2022 WPVI-TV. All Rights Reserved.