Disaster aid available for 8 NJ counties - Click for contact info

November 1, 2012 8:39:23 AM PDT
Residents and business owners in eight New Jersey counties that were severely affected by Superstorm Sandy can start applying for federal assistance on Thursday.

The money was made available as part of a disaster declaration signed Tuesday by President Barack Obama. It provides federal funds for those affected by the storm in Atlantic, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean and Union counties.

Assistance can also include grants for temporary housing and home repairs or low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses. Funding also is available to government agencies and certain private nonprofit organizations within the declaration zone.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses within the declaration zone can apply for assistance online at www.disasterassistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired.