Texting while driving fines increase in NJ

EMBED </>More Videos

It will cost you more if you are caught talking or texting while driving in New Jersey. (WPVI)

Starting Tuesday, it will cost you more if you are caught talking or texting while driving in New Jersey.

Fines start at $200 and go up from there.

A second offense carries a minimum fine of $400 and a maximum of $600.

A third time offense will cost at least $600 and up to $800.

Judges can also suspend a driver's license for 90 days for anyone convicted of third or subsequent offenses and impose three motor vehicle points.

An amended law bans all use of hand-held devices, like phones, behind the wheel, even at a red light.

New Jersey is among nine states and the District of Columbia that ban handheld cellphone use for all drivers. It's also one of 35 states that ban texting for all drivers, along with D.C.

---------

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Related Topics:
automotiven.j. newstextingtexting while drivingcellphonecellphone distractionsdistracted drivingdrivingTrenton
(Copyright ©2017 WPVI-TV. All Rights Reserved.)