Dak Prescott among nominees for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

ESPN logo
Wednesday, November 22, 2023

NEW YORK -- Dak Prescott, three-time All-Pro edge rusher Khalil Mack and two-time Pro Bowl edge rusher Maxx Crosby are among the 32 nominees for the ninth annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award.

Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes those who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field. The award was created in 2014 to honor the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney Sr.

A panel of former players -- Warrick Dunn, Larry Fitzgerald, Pro Football Hall of Famer Curtis Martin and Leonard Wheeler -- will select eight finalists, four from each conference. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote in December.

Each team's players will then submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner from among the eight finalists. A team cannot vote for its own player. The winner will be announced as part of NFL Honors. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice.

"Sportsmanship is the core of the game, the vanguard of public confidence, the keeper of game integrity," said Troy Vincent, NFL executive vice president of football operations. "These Rooney Sportsmanship Award nominees exemplify the spirit of fair play and the values of respect, integrity, commitment to team and resiliency at the highest level of competition."

The 2023 nominees are:

Related Video

Related Topics