Joe Thomas, Greg Olsen, Philip Rivers, among Art Rooney Award finalists

ESPN logo
Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Three members of the 2015 AP All-Pro team -- Cleveland tackle Joe Thomas, Baltimore guard Marshal Yanda and Seattle kick returner Tyler Lockett -- are among the 32 finalists for the NFL's Art Rooney Award recognizing sportsmanship.

The winner of the award -- established in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers, a Pro Football Hall of Famer -- is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players will select eight finalists, four from each conference. Panel members are Hall of Famer Curtis Martin, Warrick Dunn, Karl Mecklenburg and Leonard Wheeler.

The 2016 winner will be announced during the NFL Honors show on Feb. 4, 2017, the night before the Super Bowl. The Associated Press individual awards, including MVP and Coach of the Year, also are announced during NFL Honors.

Last year's winner was safety Charles Woodson of the Raiders. Receiver Larry Fitzgerald of the Cardinals was the inaugural winner of the award in 2014.

Two second-team All-Pros from 2015, Carolina tight end Greg Olsen and Atlanta fullbackPatrick DiMarco, also have been nominated. The other nominees:

Arizona Cardinals -- DTCalais Campbell

Buffalo Bills -- DT Kyle Williams

Chicago Bears-- LB Sam Acho

Cincinnati Bengals -- WR A.J. Green

Dallas Cowboys -- CB Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos -- LB DeMarcus Ware

Detroit Lions-- S Glover Quin

Green Bay Packers-- LB Julius Peppers

Houston Texans-- LB Brian Cushing

Indianapolis Colts -- RB Frank Gore

Jacksonville Jaguars -- LB Paul Posluszny

Kansas City Chiefs -- LB Derrick Johnson

Los Angeles Rams -- DE Robert Quinn

Miami Dolphins -- T Branden Albert

Minnesota Vikings-- CB Terence Newman

New England Patriots-- S Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints -- T Zach Strief

New York Giants-- WR Victor Cruz

New York Jets-- WR Brandon Marshall

Oakland Raiders -- QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles-- RB Darren Sproles

Pittsburgh Steelers -- LB Arthur Moats

San Diego Chargers -- QB Philip Rivers

San Francisco 49ers-- T Joe Staley

Tampa Bay Buccaneers-- DT Gerald McCoy

Tennessee Titans -- QB Marcus Mariota

Washington Redskins -- QB Kirk Cousins

Related Topics