Kennedy Center to honor Streisand, Freeman

September 9, 2008 11:43:48 AM PDT
Barbra Streisand, actor Morgan Freeman and country singer George Jones will be awarded the Kennedy Center Honors for lifetime achievement in the arts, along with choreographer Twyla Tharp and musicians Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey of The Who.

The performing arts center in Washington announced the 2008 honorees Tuesday.

Performers from New York, Hollywood and Nashville will salute the honorees at a Dec. 7 gala. President Bush and first lady Laura Bush will host the honorees at the White House before the performance.

The honors are awarded the night before at a State Department dinner hosted by Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice.