States of Emergency and mandatory evacuations issued

August 26, 2011

RELATED: Get the latest track of Irene with the Hurricane Tracker.


Gov. Tom Corbett has declared a state of emergency.

In Philadelphia, Mayor Michael Nutter has declared a state of emergency.

Due to the impact of Hurricane Irene, Upper Moreland Township has declared a State of Emergency effective at 7:00 p.m. on August 27th. Residents are urged to exercise caution throughout the duration of the storm.

Due to the very strong winds and heavy rains that will accompany the impending arrival of Hurricane Irene, a State of Emergency is declared for the Borough of North Wales, Montgomery County, Pennsylvania effective at midnight tonight, Saturday 27 August through 4PM tomorrow Sunday 28 August.

New Jersey:
Governor Chris Christie has declared a state of emergency.

Governor Jack Markell has declared a state of emergency


In New Jersey -

· Absecon (east of Rt 9)
· Atlantic City
· Brigantine
· Corbin City
· Galloway Township (east Rt 9)
· Linwood (east of Rt 9)
· Longport
· Margate
· Northfield (east of Rt 9)
· Port Republic (east of Rt 9)
· Somers Point (east Rt 9)
· Ventnor
· West Atlantic City in Egg Harbor Township (east of Rt 9)

· All municipalities

95% of Cape May County has been evacuated. The County's goal is to have everyone at shelters Saturday evening. The evacuation process began in Cape May County on Thursday with the mandatory evacuation of the barrier islands.

Conditions in Middle Township will begin to deteriorate and worsen throughout the day and into Sunday. If you wish to evacuate but do not have the ability to do so, call the Middle Township Emergency Management Operations Center at 609-463-1833 and every effort will be made to evacuate you. Middle Township is under a curfew, effective 6PM tonight until 6PM Sunday. When we start to experience tropical force winds, all Emergency Operations within Middle Township will cease. If you have an emergency and the phone lines are still active, call 9-1-1 and the operator will take your name, location and nature of the emergency. When conditions permit, Emergency Personnel will be dispatched to your location. Thank You

Cape May County residents can go to and click on flashbrief to get updated information on cape may county conditions.


· All of Long Beach Island
· Berkeley

· Keansburg
· Spring Lake
· Sea Bright
· Monmouth Beach
· Asbury Park (limited areas – coastal)
· Wall Township (limited areas – low lying/coastal)
· Town of Highlands
· Manasquan (limited areas – low lying/coastal; beginning Saturday, August 27th at 6:00am)
· Union Beach (beginning Saturday, August 27th at 11:00am)

In Delaware –

Governor Jack Markell orders mandatory evacuation of coastal areas by 9 a.m. Saturday.

The Executive Order includes the MANDATORY evacuation of the southeast section of Wilmington beginning at 6 p.m. Saturday

Sussex County Evacuation Areas
Fenwick Island
South Bethany
Bethany Beach
North Bethany
Dewey Beach
Rehoboth Beach
Henlopen Acres
Broadkill Beach
Prime Hook Beach
Slaughter Beach
Long Neck
Oak Orchar

Kent County Evacuation Areas
Woodland Beach
Pickering Beach
Kitts Hummock
Bowers Beach
South Bowers Beach
Big Stone Beach

New Castle County Evacuation Areas
The following areas in the City of New Castle: Buttonwood, Bull Hill - residences around Broad Dike; City residents from the River up to 3rd Street including the Strand, Deemers Beach, and the Twin Spans and Riveredge Industrial Parks
The following areas within Delaware City: Businesses and residences from Battery Park to 2nd Street, Governor Bacon Complex excluding the Tilton Bldg State Nursing Home, all residences in the 100 block of Fifth Street including Polktown Place and Delaware City Trailer Park
Areas along the coastal zone south of the C & D Canal east of East Route 9, to include Port Penn, Augustine Beach, Bay View Beach, and all residences east of Thomas Landing Road

In Pennsylvania –

Delaware County

The city of Chester is ordering a mandatory evacuation by noon Saturday for the following areas: Parker Manor, 600 Block of Parker Street, 1300 Block of Parker Street, and the 1300-1400 blocks of Kerlin Street A shelter will be set up at the Showalter Middle School located at 10th & Lloyd Streets. Call 610-447-7842 for assistance getting to the shelter. Electricity in those Chester locations will be shut off following the evacuation at noon.

Darby Borough will begin mandatory evacuations of low-lying areas Saturday at 4 p.m

Eddystone Borough will begin mandatory evacuations Saturday at 4 p.m. as follows: Eddystone Ave (Chester Pike to 10th St. Even Number side), 8th street, and the Eddystone Village Area. The Emergency shelter will be at the Lighthouse Hall, 1400 Block of 9th St. A bus will be available for transportation to Evacuation center by calling 610-874-5800. ----

Montgomery, Chester and Bucks Counties in Pennsylvania are under tropical storm warnings. Mandatory evacuations have NOT been ordered. SEPTA will shut down service at 12:30 a.m. Sunday.


RELATED: How to prepare for Hurricane Irene

Copyright © 2022 WPVI-TV. All Rights Reserved.