Powerball, Mega Millions creating national lottery?

DES MOINES, Iowa - October 13, 2009

VIDEO: Nydia Han's latest Consumer Wrap report

Powerball is played in 31 states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Mega Millions is in 12 states. The consortium behind Mega Millions and the Urbandale, Iowa-based Multi-State Lottery Association, which runs Powerball, agreed in principle to cross-sell tickets for both games.

Association executive director Chuck Strutt noted Tuesday that many details remain, including how to sell the games and financial and security processes.

He says cross-selling could begin in early 2010, and the organizations could begin a national lottery by next fall.

More money-related links:
Copyright © 2023 WPVI-TV. All Rights Reserved.