NJ asks for disaster declaration for 6 counties

August 12, 2009 6:14:47 AM PDT
Gov. Jon Corzine is requesting the federal government declare six New Jersey counties a natural disaster area so farmers can get help. The governor said in a letter sent Tuesday to federal Agriculture Secretary Thomas Vilsack that Sussex, Warren, Burlington, Camden, Mercer and Ocean Counties sustained serious damage during a tornado and other storms this season.

The tornado touched down in Sussex County on July 29, ravaging crops, damaging barns and silos.

Several severe storms have caused problems since April.

If the disaster declaration is made, farmers in those areas who had major losses would be eligible to apply for interest-free government loans.


Information from: Daily Record, http://www.dailyrecord.com

Follow Action News on Twitter

Get Action News on your website

Follow Action News on Facebook

Click here to get the latest Philadelphia news and headlines from across the Delaware and Lehigh valleys.