Burghardt wins 18th Stage of Tour de France

July 24, 2008 10:27:52 AM PDT
Marcus Burghardt of Germany has won the 18th stage of the Tour de France, while Carlos Sastre of Spain appears to have maintained the overall lead. Burghardt and Carlos Barredo of Spain finished with more than a nine-minute lead on the main pack, including the top title contenders, after the 122-mile ride from Bourg-d'Oisans to Saint-Etienne.

Sastre had started the stage 1 minute, 24 seconds ahead of Frank Schleck of Luxembourg.

The title contenders were content to let the breakaway riders go Thursday. The three-week race ends Sunday in Paris.