Philadelphia Eagles release 2022 schedule

The Birds take on the Detroit Lions in Week 1.
PHILADELPHIA (WPVI) -- The Philadelphia Eagles released their 2022 schedule on Thursday night.

The Birds kick off the season on the road against the Detroit Lions.

The Eagles will host the Minnesota Vikings for their home opener during Week 2 on September 19 for "Monday Night Football."
EMBED More News Videos

Joe Buck and Troy Aikman talk "Monday Night Football" and announce the Philadelphia Eagles home opener.



You can watch the game on 6abc starting at 8:30 p.m.

The NFL expanded to 17 regular-season games last season. The final regular-season games for the 2022 season will be played Jan. 8, 2023. The playoffs begin Jan. 14 and continue through Super Bowl LVII on Feb. 12 in Glendale, Arizona.

Here's what's in store for the Eagles:



Preseason

Week 1: Friday, August 12 vs. New York Jets at 7:30 PM

Week 2: Sunday, August 21 at Cleveland Browns at 1 PM

Week 3: Saturday, August 27 at Miami Dolphins at 7 PM

Regular Season

Week 1: Sunday, September 11 at Detroit Lions at 1 PM

Week 2: Monday, September 19 vs. Minnesota Vikings at 8:30 PM

Week 3: Sunday, September 25 at Washington Commanders at 1 PM

Week 4: Sunday, October 2 vs. Jacksonville Jaguars at 1 PM

Week 5: Sunday, October 9 at Arizona Cardinals at 4:25 PM

Week 6: Sunday, October 16 vs. Dallas Cowboys at 8:20 PM

Week 7: Bye Week

Week 8: Sunday, October 30 vs. Pittsburgh Steelers at 1 PM

Week 9: Thursday, November 3 at Houston Texans at 8:15 PM

Week 10: Monday, November 14 vs. Washington Commanders at 8:15 PM

Week 11: Sunday, November 20 at Indianapolis Colts at 1 PM

Week 12: Sunday, November 27 vs. Green Bay Packers at 8:20 PM

Week 13: Sunday, December 4 vs. Tennessee Titans at 1 PM

Week 14: Sunday, December 11 at New York Giants at 1 PM

Week 15: Sunday, December 18 at Chicago Bears at 1 PM

Week 16: Saturday, December 24 at Dallas Cowboys at 4:25 PM

Week 17: Sunday, January 1 vs. New Orleans Saints at 1 PM

Week 18: Saturday, January 7 or Sunday, January 8 vs. New York Giants, Time TBD
Copyright © 2022 WPVI-TV. All Rights Reserved.